I Say Enough

I have to admit… I never really liked the society I grew up in.
Living in the Mid-West exposed me to some very unsavory things:
Addiction,
False faces,
Closed mindedness,
Toxic families,
Expressionless living,
And a victim complex that could stretch the Mississippi River.

When I made my escape, I knew that the world I was running to wouldn’t be perfect…
But what I wasn’t prepared for was the constant appetite.

In this world of the West Coast, enough is never enough.
Whether it’s the latest Iphone, the best weekend plans, the newest Video Game, or the freshest Arm Candy; people are constantly looking for something better.
I had no way to prepare for what I found, so I found myself swept up in the craze. I had to have the newest features, the most satisfying way to spend my time, and the latest craze.
For a little while I was happy… But now I feel like it’s impossible to keep up with it all, and its miserable.
Everywhere I turn I find things wanting to draw me back in:
Ads for new technology,
Campaigns telling me that I should always have it my way,
Friends and Co-Workers telling me that there are so many people in the world, so ‘Why concern yourself with finding someone to stay with.’

In this world of instant gratification, I’ve decided that enough is enough.
I don’t want to spend my entire life looking for the next best thing.
Sure, things could always be better, but why do they have to be?
I’m not talking about settling for mediocre, choosing something that is beneath me or compromises who I am…
I’m talking about choosing when enough is good enough.

Finding that phone that does everything that I need, and I don’t need to wait for the next model to get the next cool feature.
Recognizing that my way isn’t always THE way, and knowing that I am surrounded by the kind of people who are just as flexible and willing to go with the flow.
Understanding that just because I have extra money, it doesn’t mean that I have to go out to by that new thing that catches my eye (which I’ll cease to care about in 2 months.)
Wanting to find that special guy that makes me smile, who loves me just the way that I am, sees a future with me… and not promptly looking behind him for the next guy in line who could be better.

I’m done riding this carousel, I’m starting to feel nauseous, and I’d really like my vision to stop spinning.
Society may say that enough is never enough, but I’ve had my fill, thank you very much.

I want to build a life worth living, not a life where achieving the next big thing is ‘living’.

Leave a Reply

