An Aviary Mind

Trying to control my thoughts
Is like owing an Aviary
And trying to control
The birds inside
And telling them
How to fly.

Compartmentalizing my life,
Is like sectioning those birds into
Separate cages;
Allowing no interaction
Between the cages.

Even quieting my thoughts
Is like stepping into the Aviary
And expecting the birds
To stop squawking
In my presence.

Trying to put faith into all my thoughts
Is like putting faith in
A talking parrot…
It’s just repeating
What it’s heard.

I think it’s about time
That I let these birds fly free
And just enjoy their vibrancy.

For a while anyway.

Leave a Reply

